Serving Kenly, Selma, Smithfield, Princeton & Pine Level since 1973

Johnston County under tornado watch

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


RALEIGH- The National Weather Service has issued a tornado watch  until 7 p.m. Thursday for Johnston County. 

The watch includes the cities of Clayton, Selma and Smithfield.

Other counties included are: Wilson, Wayne, Nash, Sampson, Cumberland and Edgecombe.

A tornado watch is issued when weather conditions are favorable for the development of severe thunderstorms that are capable of producing tornadoes.

A watch does not mean that the severe weather is actually occurring, only that atmospheric conditions have created a significant risk for it.