Serving Kenly, Selma, Smithfield, Princeton & Pine Level since 1973

Town board candidate filing starts Friday

Thank you for being one of our most loyal readers. Please consider supporting community journalism by subscribing.


SMITHFIELD — Filing for the Nov. 5 municipal elections begins at noon Friday. Candidates may register at the Johnston County Board of Elections office, located at 205 S. Second St., Smithfield. Office hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Filing ends at noon on July 19.

Johnston County Elections Director Leigh Anne Price said turnout for municipal races is historically low unless there’s a highly contested race.

Filing fees are $10 for mayoral candidates and $5 for town council member or town commissioner seats in every Johnston County municipality except Selma and Smithfield. In Selma, mayoral candidates pay $10 and town council candidates $18. In Smithfield, all candidates are assessed a $20 fee.

Here are the seats up for re-election and the current office-holders:

Archer Lodge

• Mayor Matt Mullholiem

• Councilman Clyde Castleberry

• Councilman J. Mark Jackson

• Councilman Hearbert Locklear


• Mayor Jerry Medlin

• District 1 Commissioner Cassandra P. Strack

• District 2 Commissioner Dan McLamb

• District 3 Commissioner Max Raynor


• Mayor Jody L. McLeod

• Councilman Jason Thompson

• Councilman Robert Satterfield

Four Oaks

• Commissioner Carles Surles

• Commissioner Vic Medlin

• Commissioner Andy Hardy


• Mayor Bonnie Williamson

• Councilman Keith Davis

• Councilman Keith Currie

• Councilman Bobby Peele


• Mayor Walter (Jay) Warren Jr.

• Commissioner Russell Creech

• Commissioner Jay Langston

• Commissioner Kevin Worley

Pine Level

• Mayor Jeff Holt

• Commissioner Karen Anderson

• Commissioner Jimmy Garner

• Commissioner Greg Baker

• Commissioner Phil Pittman


• Mayor Donald B. Rains

• Commissioner Walter A. Martin Jr.

• Commissioner Mike Rose

• Commissioner Scottie Brown (filling Larry Withrow’s unexpired term)


• Mayor Cheryl L. Oliver

• Councilman Tommy Holmes

• Councilman Mark Peterson


• Mayor Andy Moore

• Councilman Emery Ashley (not seeking re-election)

• Councilman John A. Dunn

• Councilman Steve Rabil

Wilson’s Mills

• Councilman Johnny Eason

• Councilman J.C. Triplett

Whitley Heights Sanitary District

• District Commissioner John McLean

• District Commissioner Eric Henderson